Speeding Ticket in Texas

Fines and Fees

Speeding 1-5 miles over: 2 – 3 points / $194 – $280 and up

Speeding 6 – 10 miles over:  2 – 3 points / $204  – $315 and up

Speeding 11 – 15 miles over:  2 – 4 points / $229 – $330 and up

Speeding 16 – 20 miles over:  2 – 4 points / $258 – $390 and up

Speeding 21 – 25 miles over:  3 – 5 points / $281 – $454 and up

Speeding 26 –30 miles over:  3 – 5 points / $316 – $502 and up

Speeding 30 and up: 4 – 6 points / Possible License suspension & Possible imprisonment / $350 – $500 and up   


Insurance Increase – $324.00

Total policy increase – $972.00

Ticket Counsel Customers

Speeding 1-5 miles over: 0 – 1 points / $0 – $52  

Speeding 6 – 10 miles over:  0 – 1 points / $0 – $68  

Speeding 11 – 15 miles over:  0 – 1 points / $0 – $86

Speeding 16 – 20 miles over:  0 – 1 points / $0 – $95

Speeding 21 – 25 miles over:  0 – 2 points / $0 – $111

Speeding 26 –30 miles over:  0 – 2 points / $0 – $119

Speeding 30 and up: 0 – 2 points / $0  – $142

Most states (but not all) operate a points system to track dangerous or careless drivers. The point system was developed to penalize drivers who have committed serious offenses, and to remove the most dangerous drivers from the road for the protection of others. A point value is added per infraction to your driving record. Accumulating points on your driving record is costly. These points impact your insurance rates, driving privileges, and credit score. Additionally, they come with hefty fines, court fees and surcharges that always accompany them. Violating driving and traffic laws can result in fines, the suspension or revocation of your driving privileges, and even imprisonment. To get your license reinstated you will pay hundreds of dollars in fines and fees.

Traffic ticket fines can vary depending on the court and the final ruling. Plus, depending on the type of license you hold (regular, CDL, learner’s permit, etc.), the state could enlist even stricter consequences. Get the facts on your state’s fines, points system, license suspension and more. We’re here to help!


If a vehicle is in motion when the transgression occurs, it is deemed a moving violation. This includes speeding, running a stop sign or red light, reckless driving, drunk driving (DUI/DWI), racing, and eluding an officer. The majority of moving violations are misdemeanors.


The Department of Public Safety (DPS) can suspend or revoke your driver’s license for being evaluated as medically unable to drive, driving or boating under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DWI or BWI), committing multiple traffic violations, or having no car insurance while being involved in an accident resulting in injury, death, or at least $1,000 in property damage. Each subsequent offense will result in heavy penalties. These are also the infractions that cause your insurance rates to rise steeply.



Texas uses a point system and records each moving violation on your driving record. Many different violations can lead to a license suspension, revocation or cancellation. If your license is suspended or revoked, you will not be allowed to drive until you satisfy all requirements to get your license back.


If you’re younger than 21 years old, the most common concerns are driving while under the influence (DWUI) and having any of your restricted license privileges suspended. Most convictions stay on your record 5 years from the date of the conviction.


See our Texas License Suspension/Revocation page for more information.


Commercial Drivers License (CDL) holders must notify their employers within 30 days of a violation. Some violations carry federally mandated penalties serious enough to impact a driver’s income and even career. For more details on offenses and penalties, please see our Texas CDL Suspension/Revocation page for more information.


Depending on your driving history and the reason for your ticket, your traffic court may allow you to complete a defensive driving or traffic school course to avoid adding any driver’s license points and dismiss the ticket. Taking the Defensive Driving Course or enrolling for the Class instruction enables you to receive a point reduction, and may also qualify you for a reduction in your car insurance rates. If you would like help in this decision or to get set up, call us for free advice!!!


Many citations do not require a court appearance, and you may admit guilt by paying the ticket directly. The citation will indicate how and by what date to pay the fine. Fines are either paid to the state or local municipality. You can pay in person or by mail. If your ticket has the “Must Appear” box checked you cannot pay the fine and you will have to appear in court on the date mentioned on the ticket. If you wish to dispute the citation, you must inform the courts in writing of this. You must appear in court personally on the scheduled date, and enter a “not guilty” plea. While you may be able to negotiate with the prosecuting attorney, a trial will be scheduled if no agreement is reached. A trial gives you an opportunity to fight the traffic ticket in front of a judge or jury, and most people prefer to hire a traffic ticket lawyer to defend them in court. If you are unable to attend court on the scheduled date, inform the court and make arrangements for a new date. Failing to do so could result in a warrant being put out for your arrest.


If you believe you have been incorrectly charged with committing a moving violation, you may be able to fight the charge in court. CALL US!!!!


Order your driving record to check your drivers license status, check for a suspended license, check for tickets, DUI record or DWI records, look up drivers license number and check the points on your license. Driving records are used for background checks, in court proceedings, and by insurance agencies to adjust your policy rates/premiums and investigate claims.


Convictions, license suspensions, and revocations will show up on your 3-year and 5-year driving records. You may be able to dismiss traffic tickets and remove points from your driving record by completing an online defensive driving course. Because your driving record can affect your auto insurance rates and even your employment, it’s crucial that you make sure your information is accurate.


If you pay a ticket directly, you are essentially pleading guilty to a traffic offense, which carries the same consequences as being found guilty of the violation in court. Motorists who either plead guilty directly or are found guilty of an offense should be aware of the following possible consequences:


  • Certain traffic offenses, including speeding and other moving violations, are automatically reported to the Texas Driver Services Division. Texas routinely provides information concerning traffic ticket convictions to other states.
  • The Texas Department of Transportation follows a point system to track violations and their corresponding penalties. Points are added to your driving record, which could result in your license being suspended.
  • Texas drivers that accumulate points on their driving record are often subject to higher car insurance
  • If you frequently commit moving violations, you will be subject to the Driver Responsibility Program in Texas. Under this program you will have to pay a series of surcharges if you are guilty.